Thank you

Thank you to everyone who came to celebrate on Millennium Square on 17th March, which marked 25 years of the St Patricks Day Parade in Leeds.

We were honoured this year to welcome Rob Burrow CBE as our ribbon cutter with his wife Lindsey and their children Maya, Macey and Jackson. After cutting the ribbon to start the festivities Rob and family walked through Leeds City Centre with the parade. Thank you to Rob!

Also among our guests of honour were Lord Mayor of Leeds, Cllr Al Garthwaite and the Right Honourable Alderwoman Angela Gabriel, and Sarah Mangan, Consul General of Ireland in Manchester. We were also joined on stage in Millennium Square by Alex Sobel MP and special guest Feargal Sharkey.

We were also honoured to be joined by Richard Burgon MP, Cllrs Luke Farley, Adrian McCluskey, Jim McKenna and Mikey Millar who carried flags in the parade.

Carrying the Tricolour was Malachy Gaughan from Leeds Irish Centre. The St Patrick’s Banner was carried by Cinta Culkin and Jackie Coyle representing the original founders of the parade committee. Tommy McLaughlin and Bernard McGrath also joined us on the day who were also part of the founding parade committee.

Thank you to all the groups on floats for creating a wonderful colourful spectacle. These were:

St Urban's Catholic Primary School & Christ the King Catholic Primary School (best float winner)

St Nicholas Catholic Primary School & St Patrick’s Catholic Primary School

St Francis Catholic Primary School Morley & Holy Name Catholic Voluntary Academy


Comhaltas Ceoltoiri Eireann

Leeds Irish Health and Homes

Joyce O’Donnell Dance Academy

Thank you to the wagon providers for the floats:

Plantforce, Durkan & Sons, Murphy, K Rouse Civil Engineers, Peter Duffy Ltd, Moortown Group, Fairfax Group.

Thank you to all the groups represented in walking displays:

Rose of Tralee and the Rosebuds

St Theresa's Catholic Primary School

St Joseph's Catholic Primary School Pudsey

Corpus Christi Catholic Primary School

St Aelred’s Irish Dance Group, Harrogate

MND Association Leeds

Leeds Ukrainian Community Association

Leeds Refugee Forum

Ladies Irish Golfers

Men's Irish Golfers

Gibbons Academy of Irish Dance 

Thompson Academy Irish Dancers

Mayo Association

Hugh O'Neills GAA

St Philip's Catholic Primary & Nursery School

Our Lady of Good Counsel Catholic Primary School

St Paul’s Catholic Primary School

Thank you to the bands who play in the parade and for their support every year:

North Yorkshire Fire and Rescue Band, Huddersfield Brass Band and City of Leeds Pipe Band

Thank you to the performers on stage who were:

Leeds Branch of Comhaltas Ceoltoiri Eireann, Luke Flear, St Aelreds Dance School and Joyce O'Donnell School of Dance, Leeds University Union Irish Dancers, Sean Harrington, The Leeds Irish Choir, Tommy Wade the DJ

Provincial and County Flag Bearers:

Thank you to all who arrived to carry flags on the day. This was the first year without our long standing flag marshall Tom Brennan RIP. So thank you to all who for helping us create a display this year. If we did not get a note of your name please let us know!

Connacht       Padraig Murphy

Sligo               Claire Alcock

Leitrim            Martyn Clancy

Mayo               Mick McNulty

Roscommon   Dominic Kelly 

Roscommon   Dominic Kelly 

Leinster     Cllr Jim McKenna

Carlow        Geraldine Duffy

Dublin         Marco Wade

Kildare        Richard Burgon MP

Kilkenny      Oliver Stapleton

Laois           Mark

Longford     April Rowley for Bernard Patrick O’Reilly

Louth          Stephen Sutton

Meath         Sutton family, Sheila Brine and Maria Higgins

Offaly          Emma Cassidy

Wexford      Cllr Mikey Millar

Munster     Sean Byrne

Cork            Pauline and Neil Jenkinson

Kerry           Sue Gill

Limerick      Frank Kearney

Tipperary    Marcus McCarthy

Ulster         Cllr Luke Farley

Antrim         Cllr Adrian McCluskey

Armagh       Martin Booth and Sean Cassidy

Cavan         Marta Larkin

Donegal      Regina Stapleton

Down          Lee Murtagh

Londonderry   Melanie Roughley

Tyrone        Members of the Quinn Family

We look forward to welcoming everyone back next year on Sunday 16th March 2025.

Photographs: Rob Burrow and family, floats and tractor (Mike Bettney), Feargal Sharkey and Alex Sobel MP (Alex Sobel), Best float winners, dog in Ireland shirt (Shannen Midgley).

Head over to our Facebook page for more photographs.